Queenstown, New Zealand

Queenstown is a very cool and happening place- backpackers litter the streets and boutique eateries line the high street. Nomads Queenstown is a gem of a hostel, right in town and offering the best in backpacker accommodation- a cinema, sauna and en suite rooms all are huge bonuses, but probably the best bit is the free breakfast and dinner everyday, which is great for the budget conscious. However, a huge complication in the free food thing is the absolute LEGEND that is ‘Ferg’s’.

16002969_10155646342866258_394102849802189191_n

Now, Fergburger is one of ‘the’ places to get a burger in the world. CNN has named it the best burger in existence and the queues range from 10 minutes to 40 on a busy evening- as a burger connoisseur I was sceptical but thought I’d see what the hype was all about. I carefully selected my option- ordered and elbowed my way to a seat where I crammed in with all of the other eager burger eaters. After what seemed like forever my number appeared on the magic screen and a paper bag was thrust into my hands with a receipt attached. My scepticism was riding. That was until my jaws locked around perfection. I never have, and probably never will, have a burger as frankly SENSATIONAL as the Ferg. The party isn’t the best I’ve ever had, but the bread, sauce and topping combo is to die for. This joint is far from over rated, and truly is the best burger in the universe.

img_5149

The thing about Ferg’s is that it hasn’t just stopped at the perfect burger. The bakery and gelato joints next door have also topped every other establishment of their kind in absolutely every way. Almond and white chocolate gelato was almost emotional and the home made blueberry pie made my heart beat a little faster. The Ferg dynasty has nailed it, and I am genuinely contemplating returning to Queenstown just to have more culinary perfection. YOU HAVE NOT LIVED UNTIL YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED FERGS.


16473089_10155718715376258_5003933024710758772_n


I may not have made it clear, but I pretty much liked Ferg’s.

Queenstown does have a lot more to offer than just Ferg’s I might add. We had a wicked time ziplining down a huge mountain, seeing some epic views of Queenstown’s bright blue waters and screaming our heads off as we zoomed down the steepest zip in the world.

15965806_10155646343226258_8630660701068405386_n

It was exhilarating and it was wild and one of the most fun things I’ve done on this trip. The company was ace- really professional but friendly and personal and the gear was all top quality.

Queenstown itself is cute, has gorgeous views, great food and an awesome vibe. the Winery, where you can sample 80 wines from fancy vending machines, was a hit whilst we waited for our second Fergburger (have I mentioned how great they are- maybe not?) of the visit to Queenstown. The Indian restaurant was to die for too, and a happy treat after having the heli hike cancelled.

Queenstown has it all. I love this relaxed but fun little place.

